a slow baby turtle and two ghost crabs

nature

Chai Kadai

field notes by Rahul Muralidharan

01. the ghost crab

Pooja and I were walking in Elliot’s beach in Besant Nagar. She spotted it first. I have never seen a ghost crab stray away this far from the sea. Maybe, it walked. Maybe, someone carried it along with their bags. He was so slow. For the first time, it was easy to catch a ghost crab. Standing under the massive floodlight near the police booth, late evening, I looked at his eyes. An alien. Like a dragonfly his eyes were compounded and covered by a heavy (rubber?) lid. It seriously looked like one of those exercise balls that bounce up and down. I jumped into his eyes. Men in Black. Independence Day. Why do we perceive aliens this way? Only seconds had gone by. I left. I had to. Maybe, he survived. It will be lovely to meet him again.

02…

View original post 679 more words

2 thoughts on “a slow baby turtle and two ghost crabs

Comments are closed.